Home " Insights " Merger & Acquisition

 

Merger-creation or the challenge of the blended family

merger and acquisition

 

or the challenge of the blended family

 

The growth model which involves acquiring and integrating other businesses offers a formidable opportunity for a company to move forward, if this is in line with its strategic plans.

It enables it to offer new expertise to its clients and to have access to additional resources.

 

But the incorporation of complementary strengths through external growth can also be the source of a new dynamic for the company. And this is especially true in a time like the one we are living in, in which businesses need to catch their breath and regain their positive energy.

Relational dynamics as a source of value creation

 

The merger-creation model which gives rise to a new entity, one built on all the company histories preceding it, is the integration model which allows for the “super group’s” value creation. It’s the one we choose when we don’t want to lose the identity of one business in favour of another, but instead choose to pool strengths in order to create a new one.

The prerequisite for this, however, is to correctly identify and promote the expertise of everyone within the new group, while building common bridges when the teams meet. Its success requires both the transformation/creation of the company’s organization (and in this respect digitization is a key aspect of the system), but also an increase in management skills, as well as the creation of a shared workspace allowing for dialogue and co-construction.

Management is a central aspect of a so-called “organic” business model

 

It’s obvious that at the time of the merger between two companies, it’s essential to redefine their organizations and their processes

The structuring of the teams and the digital resources (if possible built jointly), are key aspects of the new group’s start-up mechanism.

 

Managing such a project also requires a lot of agility and adaptability beyond the strategic framework because, in essence, it is a living entity that grows over the course of the different successes encountered and beyond the themes and the perimeter defined at the outset. It’s very difficult to define the phasing of the different stages, the right timing, upstream. It can only emerge from interaction and discussion between the teams

Managers are therefore an essential component in all of this. They must imperatively give thought to the values of the emerging company, proudly fly its colours and, for this to happen, we must give them the means to understand and jointly construct it.

A story of integration through shared experiences

 

To realize the ambitions of any integration project, it’s essential to build a common basis for all the employees participating in the new adventure that is just beginning: a brand identity, values but also a head office. A true flagship. A symbolically unifying place, which can even extend its footprint onto other company sites, shared spaces for interaction designed to allow the teams to get to know each other and experience life in a project simultaneously.

Mergers & Acquisitions - Corporate Strategy

How do we discover each person’s talents, the resources which can be contributed to them but also (and particularly) the perspectives offered by the new force? By working with others

 

 

 we start by choosing to get married before living together

Human-centric

 

Looking beyond the different models, a company merger is above all a human-centric project, based on common values and shared trust, for enhanced collective efficiency. The precondition for success is obtaining the backing and enthusiasm of the whole human ecosystem that makes up the company: senior managers, management and teams, but also customers and suppliers.

 

It’s important to know that according to a Gartner study, a 2% increase in the employee satisfaction rate leads to a 1% improvement in customer satisfaction. Obtaining the teams’ commitment to a new business project is therefore clearly a 100% business matter, and one which must be central. And it is all the more challenging when several identities must learn to build their future together.

 

The era of “employee-centric” management, which puts employees at the heart of processes and planning, is therefore upon us. It will help companies to become less compartmentalized and more innovative. 

Trending topics
Cropped shot of a group of businesspeople holding a plant growing out of soil

A CSR standard? But what for? When the event industry created ISO 20121

Storytelling

Mergers & Acquisitions - Corporate Strategy

Merger-creation or the challenge of the blended family

event technology WMH Project

DIGITAL TECHNOLOGY: MORE OR NO MORE?

Accueil » Insights » Fusion-créatio…

 

Fusion-création

fusion-acquisition

 

ou le défi de la famille recomposée

 

Le modèle de croissance qui consiste à acquérir et intégrer d’autres structures est une formidable opportunité de rebond pour une entreprise, si elle est en ligne avec son projet stratégique.

Cela lui permet d’offrir de nouvelles expertises à ses clients et d’avoir accès à des ressources complémentaires.

 

Mais l’intégration de forces vives complémentaires par le biais de la croissance externe, est aussi le terreau d’une dynamique nouvelle pour l’entreprise. Et cela est particulièrement vrai dans une période comme celle que nous vivons, dans laquelle les entreprises ont besoin de retrouver du souffle et de l’énergie positive.

Des dynamiques relationnelles naît la création de valeur

 

Le modèle de la fusion-création qui donne naissance à une nouvelle entité, bâtie sur l’ensemble des histoires qui l’ont précédée, est le modèle d’intégration qui permet la création de valeur du « super collectif ». C’est celui que l’on choisit quand on ne veut pas dissoudre l’identité des uns au profit de celle des autres, mais plutôt additionner les forces pour en créer une supplémentaire.

Son préalable est en revanche d’identifier correctement et de valoriser les expertises de chacun au sein du nouvel ensemble, tout en créant des passerelles communes au moment de la réunion des équipes. Sa réussite nécessite à la fois une transformation/création de l’organisation de l’entreprise (et en cela la digitalisation est un point clef du dispositif), mais aussi une montée en compétence du management, ainsi que la création d’un espace de travail commun permettant les échanges et la co-construction.

Le management au cœur d’un modèle d’entreprise dit ‘organique’

 

Il est évident qu’au moment du rapprochement entre deux entreprises, il est essentiel de redéfinir leurs organisations et leurs process.

La structuration des équipes, les outils digitaux (si possible construits en commun), sont au cœur du dispositif de démarrage du nouvel ensemble.

 

Piloter un tel projet demande par ailleurs beaucoup d’agilité et de capacité d’adaptation au-delà du cadrage stratégique car, par essence, il est un objet vivant qui grandit par rebonds successifs et au-delà des axes définis à l’origine. Il est très difficile de définir en amont le cadencement des différentes étapes, le bon timing. Il ne peut émerger que des échanges entre les équipes.

Les managers en sont donc un rouage essentiel : ils doivent impérativement refléter les valeurs de l’entreprise en devenir, porter ses couleurs et, pour cela, on doit leur donner les moyens de la comprendre et la co-construire.

Une histoire d’intégration à travers le vécu commun

 

Pour concrétiser l’ambition d’un projet d’intégration, il est indispensable de bâtir un socle commun à l’ensemble des collaborateurs de la nouvelle histoire qui commence : une identité de marque, des valeurs mais aussi un siège social, véritable navire amiral. Un lieu symboliquement rassembleur, qui peut même étendre son empreinte sur les autres sites de l’entreprise, espaces de vie en commun dessinés pour permettre aux équipes de se connaître et d’expérimenter la vie d’un projet de façon simultanée.

Fusion-Acquisition - Stratégie d'entreprise

Comment découvrir les talents de chacun, les ressources que l’on peut leur apporter mais aussi et surtout, les perspectives offertes par la nouvelle force ? En planchant avec les autres !

 

 

 On commence par choisir de se marier avant de vivre ensemble

human first

 

Au-delà des modèles, un rapprochement d’entreprises est avant tout un projet humain, fondé sur des valeurs communes et une confiance partagée, pour une efficacité collective renforcée. La condition du succès est l’adhésion de l’ensemble de l’écosystème humain qui constitue l’entreprise : direction, management et équipes, mais aussi clients et fournisseurs.

 

Il n’est pas anodin de savoir que, d’après une étude de Gartner, une augmentation de 2 % du taux de satisfaction des employés entraîne une amélioration de 1 % de la satisfaction des clients. L’engagement des équipes dans un nouveau projet d’entreprise est donc clairement un enjeu 100% business qui doit être central. Et c’est d’autant plus un challenge dans le cas où plusieurs identités doivent apprendre à édifier leur futur ensemble.

 

L’ère du management « employee centric », qui met les collaborateurs au cœur des processus et des réflexions, est donc devant nous. Il permettra à l’entreprise d’être plus décloisonnée et plus innovante. 

Trending topics

Le storytelling

Fusion-Acquisition – Stratégie d’entreprise

Fusion-création

technologie évènementiel WMH Project

DIGITAL : stop ou encore ?

Projets et stratégie d’entreprise

La spécialisation : une promesse d’efficience au Project Management