Home " Insights " Storytelling...

 

Storytelling

 

 

STORYTELLING, A WEAPON OF MASS PERSUASION?

 

 

Right now I hear a lot of people saying that storytelling is one of the best - if not the best - means of persuasion.

That it would therefore be more effective than a presentation consisting of, for example, a thesis, an antithesis and a synthesis, than a practical demonstration or than a simple comparison.

But, and this is where things get interesting, those who try to convince me - often another storyteller and often via social media - do so without ever making use of storytelling. In general, they simply choose to list its qualities.

 

Why? 
Maybe because in reality, storytelling is not the weapon of mass persuasion that people are currently trying to pass it off as.

But let’s start from the beginning: what is storytelling?

GUITARS AND

PENS

 

A songwriter employs the following structure: verse, chorus, verse, chorus, verse, bridge, chorus (more or less, in that order or another), and uses it, for more efficiency, if he deems it necessary, when writing a song.

Are you familiar with this? Good.

You just have to tell yourself that, for his part, a storyteller employs the following structure: context, presentation of the characters, problem, first attempt at resolution, twists and turns, new problem, resolution, final situation (more or less, in that order or another) and that he uses it, if he deems it necessary, to write his stories.

Storytelling therefore does not constitute the preparation of narratives in the broadest sense, but the use of precise narrative structures, traditionally used in literature, or in cinema, in the world of communication.

A STORYTELLER KNOWS HOW TO TELL A GOOD STORY

 

Think about your favourite books or films, and you’ll probably agree that when it comes to highlighting narrative issues, this structure has certainly proven its worth. It’s what caused you to miss your metro stop, because you were so engrossed in your book. It’s what gets you so totally immersed in a movie you’ve already seen.

 

On a personal level, it’s what explains my love of slasher movies: because this kind of film always uses the same pitch, where variations in their structure can change everything.

It’s almost a stylistic exercise: a single good idea can make all the difference between a déjà vu experience and a nice surprise.

Storytelling - WMH Project

Benjamin Peurey, Storyteller WMH Project

 

Storytelling is a tool that seeks to capture and retain attention.

ENTERTAIN,

NOT DISTRACT

 

We have to admit that if the narrative structure, on which storytelling is based, did not exist, many classics from the worlds of the cinema and literature would never have found their audience.  

Anyone who has ever seen a good thriller knows that storytelling, in addition to highlighting the threats and challenges, offers great entertainment. Its mechanics give meaning to the dramatic sequence of
events in the story, while at the same time including plenty of surprises - the twists and turns - which bring chaos without failing to support the story.

This is one of the great strengths of storytelling: even though it creates entertainment, anchoring the key aspects of the story in people’s minds and stoking suspense, storytelling also automatically and simultaneously fights against distraction.

DICTIONARIES AND KITCHENS

 

Ultimately, we should see storytelling as a very promising cooking recipe: there’s every reason to drool when reading it, but on the one hand the cook must successfully cook it, and on the other hand, when you yourself are a cook, you don’t always need it, because a simple ham sandwich made with quality products can be excellent and requires no real effort, right?

 

In any case, although a recipe occasionally gets your mouth watering, it’s not the recipe itself that will generate word of mouth, but the way it’s cooked... the finished dish. However, the recipe will have taken the first step towards creating the desire.

Likewise, storytelling is a tool that seeks to capture and retain attention.

 

Because it’s still underexploited in B2B, its potential is very likely unknown. But we do know several things: firstly, that it probably won’t do all the work, especially if the goal is to create engagement.

And also, that despite this, very few methods can prepare the ground the way it can: generating emotion, stimulating and retaining interest, when one has an audience to engage. Isn’t that already a very considerable achievement?

Trending topics
Cropped shot of a group of businesspeople holding a plant growing out of soil

A CSR standard? But what for? When the event industry created ISO 20121

Storytelling

Mergers & Acquisitions - Corporate Strategy

Merger-creation or the challenge of the blended family

event technology WMH Project

DIGITAL TECHNOLOGY: MORE OR NO MORE?

Accueil » Insights » Le storytelling…

 

Le storytelling

 

 

Le sTorytelling, arme de conviction massive ?

 

 

J’entends en ce moment pas mal dire du storytelling qu’il est l’un des meilleurs – voire le meilleur – levier pour convaincre.

Qu’il serait donc plus efficace qu’une présentation constituée par exemple d’une thèse, d’une antithèse et d’une synthèse, qu’une démonstration pratique, ou qu’un simple comparatif.

Mais, et c’est là que les choses deviennent intéressantes, ceux qui essaient de m’en convaincre – souvent un autre storyteller, souvent via les réseaux sociaux – le font… sans jamais faire usage du storytelling : en général, ils choisissent tout bêtement de dresser la liste de ses qualités.

 

Pourquoi ?
Peut-être parce qu’en réalité, le storytelling n’est pas l’arme de conviction massive pour laquelle on essaie, ces temps-ci, de le faire passer.

Mais commençons par le commencement : qu’est-ce que c’est, déjà, le storytelling ?

DES GUITARES ET

DES STYLOS

 

Un songwriter maitrise la structure suivante : couplet, refrain, couplet, refrain, couplet, pont, refrain (à peu de choses près, dans cet ordre ou dans un autre), et l’utilise, pour plus d’efficacité, s’il le juge nécessaire, lorsqu’il écrit une chanson.

Ça vous est familier ? Très bien.

Vous n’avez plus qu’à vous dire qu’un storyteller maitrise la structure suivante : contexte, présentation des personnages, problématique, premier élément de résolution, péripéties, nouvelle problématique, résolution, situation finale (à peu de choses près, dans cet ordre ou dans un autre) et qu’il l’utilise, s’il le juge nécessaire, pour écrire ses histoires.

Le storytelling ne qualifie donc pas l’élaboration de récits au sens large, mais bien l’utilisation de structures narratives précises, traditionnellement utilisées en littérature, ou au cinéma, dans l’univers de la communication.

UN STORYTELLER SACHANT STORYTELLER

 

Pensez à vos livres, ou à vos films préférés, et vous en conviendrez : en matière de valorisation des enjeux narratifs, cette structure a fait ses preuves. C’est grâce à elle que, parfois, vous avez raté votre station de métro, faute d’avoir pu refermer ce bouquin qui vous passionne. C’est grâce à elle, aussi, que vous ne voyez pas le temps passer devant un film que vous avez déjà vu.

 

Personnellement, c’est grâce à elle que je me passionne pour les slashers : parce que ce genre de films répond toujours au même pitch, les variations dans leur structure peuvent tout changer.

On y frôle l’exercice de style : une seule bonne idée peut transformer un déjà-vu en belle surprise.

Le Storytelling - WMH Project

Benjamin Peurey, Storyteller WMH Project

 

Le storytelling est un outil qui cherche à capter et à conserver l’attention.

DIVERTIR,

PAS DISTRAIRE

 

Force est d’admettre que si la structure narrative, sur laquelle s’appuie le storytelling, n’existait pas, bien des classiques du cinéma comme de la littérature n’auraient jamais trouvé leur public.  

Tous ceux qui ont déjà vu un bon thriller le savent : le storytelling, en plus de valoriser les enjeux, fait la promesse d’un divertissement. Sa mécanique donne du sens à l’enchaînement dramatique des événements du récit, et intègre du même coup des plages entières de surprises – les péripéties – qui apportent le chaos sans pour autant cesser de servir l’histoire.

C’est d’ailleurs encore l’un des grands pouvoirs du storytelling : alors même qu’il créé le divertissement, ancrant les enjeux du récit dans les esprits, attisant le suspense, le storytelling lutte aussi automatiquement, et simultanément, contre la distraction.

DES DICTIONNAIRES ET DES CUISINES

 

En définitive, voyez le storytelling comme une très prometteuse recette de cuisine : on a toutes les raisons de saliver à sa lecture, mais il reste, d’une part, au cuisinier d’en réussir l’application, et d’autre part, lorsqu’on est soi-même cuisinier, on n’en a pas systématiquement besoin : un jambon-beurre, avec des produits de qualité, c’est excellent et ça se fait presque tout seul, non ?

 

Quoi qu’il en soit, s’il arrive parfois que la recette donne envie, ce n’est pas elle qui va créer le bouche-à-oreille, mais son application. Elle aura pour autant fait le premier pas vers l’obtention de l’engagement.

De la même manière, le storytelling est un outil qui cherche à capter, et à conserver l’attention.

 

Parce qu’il est encore sous-exploité dans le B2B, on ignore très probablement son potentiel. Mais on sait plusieurs choses : d’abord, qu’il ne fera sans doute pas tout le travail, d’autant moins s’il s’agit de créer de l’engagement.

Ensuite, que pour autant, peu de méthodes peuvent préparer le terrain comme lui : procurer des émotions, stimuler et garder l’intérêt captif, lorsque l’on a une audience à engager, c’est déjà plus que considérable, non ?

Trending topics

Le storytelling

Fusion-Acquisition – Stratégie d’entreprise

Fusion-création

technologie évènementiel WMH Project

DIGITAL : stop ou encore ?

Projets et stratégie d’entreprise

La spécialisation : une promesse d’efficience au Project Management